Battling Morality

Yesterday, was an epic day in American and World history. And I do not think I am overstating that. On May 1st, 2011, the United States eliminated terrorist mastermind Osama Bin Laden, who is the spiritual and intellectual leader of Al-Queda, the organization responsible for more than 3,000 American and International citizen lives on September 11th, 2001.

What does this have to do with nonprofits?

Everything.

In the battle for the upper hand, we seldom stop to ponder what the morality of a feeling or decision might be. Often when occassions arise to push our agenda we might forget what it means for the other side. These decisions are made of out of passion and how the other side has treated us when they had the upper hand.

All across Twitter, Facebook, and in person celebrations of joy that Bin Laden was dead broke out. And rightfully so, some well thought discussion (or musings) of the morality behind celebrating anyone’s death.

I have my own opinions about Bin Laden’s passing, which can be seen on my twitter feed in full view. My principle that guides me through that emotional decision is the same that guides me through my moralistic behavior in the sector:

When battling in politics, social good, change, the grocery line, or driving – no one is my enemy, only an oppontent with differing views. I will live with them and love them as a neighbor in a world that with openness will progress towards greatness.

There is evil in the world. There is a dark side. And we must always know that these dark forces are the real enemy. These are those worthy of defending our civilization from. Because anything can be taken away by those dark enough wanting to destroy it.

We all have different markers for morality. And mine may rub yours wrong. But this event does more than remind me of such a dark day. It reminds me of how proud I am to see a people grapple with their morality  – and how we do that everyday.

Thoughts?

